Home / News / News

Three XTU Teachers Included in “Changjiang Scholars Program”


The Ministry of Education recently announced the list of experts selected for the 2017 “Changjiang Scholars Program”. Three experts from Xiangtan University were selected, including one lecture professor and two young scholars. The number of XTU experts selected for the program has increased to six, including three chair professors, one lecture professor, and two young scholars.

The selected Changjiang Scholar Lecture Professor is Professor Nie Jiawang from the School of Mathematics and Computational Science. Two young scholars are Professor Yang Li from the School of Materials Science and Engineering and Professor Li Zhetao from the College of Information Engineering.

Nie Jiawang, Ph.D., is a professor at the University of California, San Diego. He graduated from Xi'an Jiaotong University with a bachelor’s degree, and gained his master’s degree from the Academy of Mathematics and Systems Science (AMSS) of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), under the supervision of academician Yuan Yaxiang. He then obtained his doctor’s degree at the University of California, Berkeley.

Yang Li, Ph.D., professor, is a leading talent of the “Ten-Thousand Talents Program” of the Central Organization Ministry, and winner of Xuzhilun outstanding teacher award of the Chinese Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (CSTAM). She once won the title of Hunan Provincial Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars and the First Hunan Young Talents Award. She is currently Vice Dean of the XTU School of Materials Science and Engineering, concurrently Secretary General of the CSTAM Physical Mechanics Committee, Executive Director and Deputy Secretary of the Youth Committee of the Chinese Materials Research Society, Vice Chairman of the Coatings and Film Branch of the Chinese Ceramic Society, and Vice President of the Hunan Youth Association for Science and Technology.

Li Zhetao, Ph.D., professor, is a winner of the Hunan Provincial Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars. He received bachelor's, master's, and doctoral degrees from Xiangtan University, Beijing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics, and Hunan University respectively. He used to studied at Stony Brook University in the United States and was invited to teach at Ajou University in South Korea.